Aerosmith's Joe Perry Honored With Les Paul Award At 32nd Annual NAMM TEC Awards

January 30, 2017

On Saturday, January 23, legendary Aerosmith guitarist Joe Perry was presented with the prestigious Les Paul Award at the 32nd Annual NAMM TEC Awards in Anaheim, CA.  Perry was presented with the honor by his Hollywood Vampires bandmate Johnny Depp, who said Perry was "his hero" and "the reason I picked up the guitar in the first place."

Perry and Depp were later joined on stage by Aerosmith guitarist Brad Whitford, Robert DeLeo (Hollywood Vampires, Stone Temple Pilots) and Glen Sobel (Alice Cooper) for a three-song set including "Boogie Man," "Combination" and "Walk This Way" before Perry's Hollywood Vampires frontman Alice Cooper joined in on "Train Kept A Rollin" and "Sweet Emotion."

The annual Les Paul Award is given on behalf of the Les Paul Foundation to honor individuals that have set the highest standards of excellence in the creative application of recording technology in the spirit of the famed audio pioneer, inventor and musician, Les Paul.  Joe Perry was honoried alongside famed Aerosmith producer/engineer Jack Douglas.

Exclusive video of the event can be seen below!  The show benefited the Autumn Leaves Project, founded by musician/producer Butch Walker to fight pancreatic cancer.

(Photo by USA Today)